About the MoWR chair

The Ministry of Water Resources (MoWR), Government of India established a chair at IIT Roorkee in 2008. The chair has been named as ‘Bharat Singh Chair for Water Resources’ in the memory of Late Professor Bharat Singh, a renowned water resources expert and visionary of India.

          The main objective of the Chair is to carry out studies on water resources with special emphasis on assessment of effect of climate change on it and adaptation strategies in respect of planning, design and management of water resources systems in general and of Indus Basin, in particular. An important activity related to the Chair will be transfer of technology to various organizations of MOWR/GOI.

The other general objectives are:

  1. To take part in the academic programme of the IIT/Roorkee as full time professor/faculty in Water Resources Engineering.
  2. To develop R&D programme relevant to the needs of various organizations of MOWR/GOI in the relayed areas.
  3. To initiate and develop human resources development (HRD) programmes relevant to the needs of various organizations of MOWR / GOI and to coordinate courses for their officers.
  4. To review available design standards and suggest necessary changes / modifications to accommodate the effect of climate change in design of water resources systems.

Current Professor on Chair
Name Dr.Goel N.K.
DesignationChair Professor
Email goelnfhy[at]iitr.ac.in
Phone (office)+91-01332-285814
AddressProfessor, Department of Hydrology, and Chair Professor,
Bharat Singh Chair for Water Resources,
(Chair Established by Min. of Water Resources, GoI)
Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee,
Roorkee - 247 667, India
Telefax : +91 1332 285814 (Off.); 01332- 285185 (Res.)
Mob.:+91 9412393851
E-mail : goelhy@gmail.com with copy on goelnfhy@iitr.ac.in